Pro Rules Differences

The following represent the most significant rule differences between Professional
Baseball Rules and Federation/NCAA. For clarity, the Pro rule interpretation is cited.

1.10 The bat may have a wrapping which makes the handle flush with the knob.
1.12-1.14 Specifications for the glove, first baseman’s mitt, and catcher’s mitt.

2.00 The Strike Zone. Area over home plate from the midpoint between top of shoulders
and the top of the uniform pants to the hoilow beneath the kneecap. To be called a strike
without the batter offering at the pitch, some part of the pitched ball in flight must pass
through this area. A pitch that hits the ground and then bounces up and through some
part of the strike zone is in play, but can not be called a strike as it is no longer in flight.

3.03. There is no reentry of starters following substitution.

4.09(b) In a game ending situation with runners forced by an award, only the runner on
3" base and the batter runner must advance and touch the next base.

6.2 © There is no charged strike for batter stepping out of the batter’s box.

6.05(b) Only the catcher may catch a foul tip; if caught by any other player, it is a foul
ball and the ball is dead.

6.05(e) Interpretation. Regardless of whether or not an infield fly is declared by the
umpire(s), the batter is out if the batted ball meets the definition of an infield fly.

6.05(k) and 7.09(k) Interpretation. To be able to call offensive interference on a batter-
runner running outside of the three-foot rurning lane marked the last 45 feet to 1™ base, a
throw must be made. The UIC must judge the quality of this throw before making a call.
Interference should not be called if the throw has no realistic chance of retiring the batter-
runner. An allowance must be made for the batter-runner to step inside the foul line as he
reaches the immediate vicinity of 1% base because 1*' base is not readily accessible for the
batter-runner to touch since the three-foot lane runs adjacent and past the base in foul
territory. NOTE. however, that this allowance is not extended to the batter-runner who
has run the entire distance to 1*' base inside or outside the lane—that batter-runner is
wrong and most probably has interfered. ALSO, the batter-runner must have a foot on
the ground outside of the three-foot running lane (including chalk lines) to have
committed interference. EXAMPLES: bunt down the first base line, batter-runner stays
inside the foul line all the way to 1°" and is hit by the catcher’s throw 10 feet short of 1*
base—Interference; same play but catcher attempts not to hit the batter-runner and throws
the ball 5 feet over the first baseman’s head into right field—No Interference as the throw
was not a quality throw.



e Interpretation. Situation: 1 out. R3 at g base, squeeze bunt, R3 slides home
safely with no play being made on him, but then catcher’s throw to 1% base hits batter-
runner who is running inside fair territory out of the running lane. Ruling: Offensive
interference on the batter-runner and since the throw by the catcher was the first play off
the bat, disallow the run and send the runner back to 3" base even though the runner had
touched home betore the interference. BUT, if in same situation the pitcher had fielded
the bunt and thrown to the catcher at home in an attempt to retire R3 who scored safely
and then the catcher’s throw to 1* hit the batter-runner who is running inside fair territory
out of the running lane, the run would score since an intervening play was made before
the interference and on that intervening play R3 scored. If either situation started with
two outs, no run would score because the third out of the half inning was made by the
batter-runner before he touched 1* base.

3" Interpretation. Situation: 1 out, R3 at 3" base, sharply batted ball past 1 base
fielded by the 1*' baseman who throws home in attempt to retire R3--but the throw hits
the batter-runner who is running to 1% base inside fair territory in the last 45 feet to the
base. Ruling: no interference and play continues UNLESS umpire judges that the batter-
runner intentionally interfered with the throw; note that the batter-runner is restricted in
creating his basepath only when a throw is being made to 1* base.

6.06(c) Unintentional “Weak” Interference. R1 on 1% stealing on the play. count 1-1 on
B1; B1 swings =0 hard his bat unintentionally comes around and hits the catcher, the
catcher’s glove, or the ball preventing the catcher from making a play on the stealing R1.
Ruling: On unintentional interference, the ball is dead but no one is called out--R1
returns, count on B1 now 1-2. HOWEVER, if F2 had possession of the ball and was
preparing to throw to retire stealing R1 when B1 interfered with F2—or if UIC judges
that the interference was intentional, B1 is out on the interference and R1 returns, unless
the throw retired R 1—in which case the play would continue without reference to the
interference and B! would remain at bat with a 1-2 count. If the count on B1 had been 1-
2 before the piich and B1 interfered with I2 trying to throw out stealing R1, then R1 is
also out on the play under rule 7.09(f).

6.10(b) The DH must bat at least once before being substituted for unless the opposing
team changes pitchers.

7.01(a) (b) Defensive team must properly appeal a runner missing a base or failing to
retouch after a fly ball is caught to get an out. Note an appeal is canceled only when the
defense throws the ball into dead ball territory or either team initiates a play.

7.04(c) and 5.10(f) Fielder after making a catch enters dead ball territory, the ball
remains alive unless the fielder falls down.

7.06(a) and (b) Obstruction of runner if a play is being made on him or if the batter-
runner is obstructed before reaching 1% base, the ball is immediately dead; award is at
least 1 base bevond the base last legally touched—umpire may award more bases than




one if in the umpire’s judgment the player would have reached if not obstructed.
Obstruction of runner with no play being made on him, delayed dead ball; play continues
until no further action possible, then umpire calls “TIME” and imposes penalties—could
be no base, a single base, or multiple bases.

7.09(1) (m) Interpretation. Situation: R3 on 3" base, R2 on 2" base, batter grounds to
short who throws home to attempt to retire R3; R3 slides properly and is safe on the play
but as F2 attempts to throw to 3™ base to retire R2 advancing on the play, R3 who has
scored pops up and deliberately interferes with F2’s throw so that the throw sails into left
field. Ruling: Offensive interference by R3, Ball is dead immediately, and R3 is out—
take the run off the board, return R2 to 2™ base. Same logic as if under subpara (m) R3
slid home on the play, scored, but was then hit by an untouched fair batted ball (bunt)
while still laying on the ground in fair territory. A runner is not above the interference
rule even if he has scored.

8.01(b) Preparatory to coming to a set position, the pitcher shall have one hand on his
side. In the set position the pitcher must come to a stop holding the ball in both hands in
front of his body. There is no restriction on where in front of his body both hands must
be.

8.01(d) and 8.05 A balk or illegal pitch is a delayed dead ball. If the pitcher delivers the
ball, the ball is live and if the batter-runner and all base runners advance at least one base
on the ensuing play, play will proceed without reference to the balk; if not, enforce the
balk penalty.

8.02(a) (1) The pitcher can not go to his mouth with his pitching hand while in the 18 foot
circle of the pitcher’s mound. Penalty, immediately award batter a Ball. EXCEPTION:
at the plate conference of games played during cold weather both managers and the UIC
agree the pitcher may blow on his hand for warmth. Then the pitcher may do so.

8.05(b) A right-handed pitcher is permitted to slightly turn his left shoulder during the
stretch or while in the set position and looking at the runner at 1* base as long as the
shoulder movement is not judged a feint by the umpires (same applies for left-handed
pitcher and 3" hase). The pitcher may also stand in an open position with his non-pivot
foot outside the 24 inch width of the pitching rubber (must still be in front of the front
edge of the rubber) and stretch—staying cpen—from that starting position.

8.05(c) The “31” move. R3 on 3" and R1 on 1%, pitcher in set position. The pitcher
feints toward 3™ by stepping toward the base but does not throw (also has no arm
motion), dlsengageb the pitching rubber, and then turns, steps toward 1** and throws or
feints to 1. LEGAL, also note a 2 base award on the throw into dead ball territory as the
pitcher has disengaged the pitching rubber. Under Pro Rules this move is ILLEGAL if
the pitcher does not disengage the rubber on the feint to 3" and then spins or wheels off
his planted left foot and throws to 1°—this would be ruled a continuing move while the
right foot was on the rubberPenalty: BALK.



8.06 Manager/coach may visit any one pitcher once per inning—regular innings or extra
innings—without any type of penalty (YES, in a 9 inning game, that could be 9 visits to
the same pitcher, one per inning). A second visit to the same pitcher in the same inning is
permitted but requires removal of that pitcher from the GAME—VERIFY at the plate
conference if a local rule in the league you’re umpiring permits the pitcher removed after
a second visit to stay in the game. Each substitute pitcher is entitled to the same visits per
inning as the starting pitcher.

If the pitcher is removed from the mound during the first visit of an inning but
stays in the game at another defensive position, that pitcher may return to pitch one time
in that inning. If the manager/coach visits this returned pitcher, this visit is the Second
Visit. The second visit in the same inning can not be while the same batter is at bat.
NOTE: the next batter is at bat immediately after the previous batter completes his time at
bat. EXCEPTION; the manager makes his first visit, a pinch hitter is then substituted for
the named batter—the manager/coach may make an immediate second visit to the pitcher,
but must remove that pitcher from the game. If under any other circumstance the
manager attempts to make a second visit to the same pitcher with the same batter at bat—
and after warning by the UIC that the visit is not permitted the manager persists in going
to the mound, the UIC SHALL EJECT the manager and require the pitcher to continue to
pitch until the current batter completes his time at bat; then the pitcher is removed from
the game and a substitute pitcher must be used.

If the Manager/coach visits with another defensive player, not the pitcher, this
conference does not count as a visit to the pitcher, unless that defensive player goes to the
mound to talk to the pitcher before the next pitch is thrown—if this subsequent meeting
happens, the conference with the defensive player is announced by the UIC as a visit to
the pitcher.

Managers/Coaches may visit on field with their pitcher during the change
over/warmup time between half innings, UNLESS this visiting delays the game (Rule
8.03 limit of 8 pitches OR 1 minute—in reality, almost any visit by a manager/coach to
their pitcher during this period of the game WILL result in delay). Following the first
delay, the UIC should warn the manager that the next delay will result in a visit being
charged for the upcoming half inning.

Managers/Coaches may visit their pitcher in an injury situation with no visit being
charged if there is no strategy/coaching discussion—UIC should monitor the
conversation.

There are no “offensive conferences” under pro rules, so no need to be concerned
with defensive manager/coach visiting pitcher for free during offensive conference. (The
offensive team calls TIME OUT not OFFENSIVE CONFERENCE).

No Rule. If a batted ball lodges in a defensive players uniform or equipment, the ball is
live.

No Rule. There is no intentional walk of a batter; minimum of 4 pitches must be thrown.

No Rule. A batter is not out if he hits fair or foul while touching the plate unless the
batter’s foot is completely outside the lines of the batter’s box when he touches the plate.



